Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Latest Posts

MRI and Its Types

MRI is the short form of Magnetic Resonance Imaging, which is a non-invasive medical diagnosis tool for the detection of disorders and diseases. MRI uses a magnetic field and computer-generated radio waves to create images of the organs or the body of a patient. MRI does not use ionising radiation and can produce images of bones, muscles, organs and blood vessels. There are 2 types of MRI scan machines one is called closed bore and another is called open bore. Closed bore machines are enclosed tunnel-like structures which produce the best quality images. Whereas open bore machines are open and comfortable for patients who have issues with closed spaces.

Need of MRI

MRI provides the facility to examine the inside of the body using non-invasive techniques. MRI is used to detect various disorders or diseases inside the body. Some of the uses are listed as:

  • Tumors and cysts in the body
  • Breast cancer screening, for those who face a high risk of breast cancer
  • Diagnosis of different heart problems
  • Abnormalities or injuries in joints, bones or knees
  • Diagnosis of abnormalities in the brain and spinal cord
  •  For the evaluation of pelvic pains
  • Uterine abnormalities in women
  • Abnormalities, diseases or disorders in the liver and abdomen

These are some of the uses of MRI in the medical and diagnosis field. 

List of different types of MRI

There are different types of MRI but the most common types of MRIs used for medical diagnosis purposes are listed below:

  •  Cardiac MRI: This MRI is used to diagnose the abnormalities in the heart. MRI will give the doctor detailed access to the functions of the heart and blood vessels around it so that the doctor can devise a treatment plan.
  • Breast MRI: Patients with the highest risk of breast cancer and family history are advised for regular MRIs to detect cancer at an early stage. This gives details of progression and the location of the cancer while the doctor can also advise the needle biopsy for the confirmation of the cancer.
  • Functional MRI: This MRI is used to test the brain activity and any abnormalities related to the brain. This test can predict the strokes or the tumours in the brain at early stages.
  • Magnetic Resonance Venography (MRV): MRV is combined with the contrast dye to produce clear images of internal organs and veins more specifically. The veins appear translucent and show up well in images.
  • Magnetic Resonance Angiography (MRA): This is similar to the MRV but focuses on the blood vessels after intravenous contrast dye is administered. This helps the healthcare provider to assess the situation of the blood vessels that run through the heart and soft tissues of the body. 
  • Non-Contrast MRA: Patients with renal problems can’t tolerate the dye. This type eliminates the need to use the dye without compromising the image quality.
  • Open field MRI: Patients who are not comfortable in closed-space MRI machines have the choice of the open field MRI. This is also good for obese patients, patients with a fear of enclosed spaces or patients suffering from stress.

Let’s help you to choose a good MRI centre.

Before going for the MRI scanning you need to check some centre details. You should check for Government accreditations, the latest machines, doctors at your disposal, good technical staff, and prior expertise in healthcare. The diagnostic facility should be clean, and hygienic and provide full information to patients or you can choose Ganesh Diagnostic for any type of MRI scan.


MRI is the short form of Magnetic Resonance Imaging, which is a non-invasive medical diagnosis tool for the detection of disorders and diseases. MRI has different uses and types based on the needs of the patient. Patients need to look for certain facilities, accreditations and expertise before choosing any diagnostic facility for MRI.  

Latest Posts

Don't Miss